Alive.

So much has happened since my last post & I don’t even know where to begin!

I guess I’ll start with Moonrise!
To be completely honest, I was really nervous about going because it was my first EDM festival and I was going with old and new friends. If you don’t know me, I’m actually a pretty quiet and awkward person initially, however after warming up, I eventually become friendly and talkative. But any who, I didn’t really know what to expect and since it was a two day event, I really hoped that I would stay pumped the whole weekend. But little did I know…
The first day was our experimental day. To get in the event, we had to go through bag/body check as well as get wrist bands to enter. However, the lines for these checks to get in was crazy! In the beginning, there wasn’t even lines, it was just a giant mass of people trying to squeeze into lines. It took us a while, but eventually we got in. When we finally entered, I was surprised with all the unique and intricate costumes people had on as well as the size of the place! It was a pretty large area with four stages. But at the end of the day I had a blast and I also got to hear a lot of great new music. I think my favorites for the day was 3lau and Audien! They gave off really good vibes and overall amazing performances. Day 1 was amazing and I was stoked for day 2, especially since my favorite (you’ll see) was going to be there!
At the beginning of day 2, I was completely exhausted. I felt like I used up all of my energy the previous day and I wondered how I was going to survive the day. Luckily, I had a friend who sat out with me and kept me company for a little while! Our goal was to save enough energy for Porter Robinson and Above & Beyond. By the time these performances came around, we were ready and stoked to see them live. Porter was simply amazing. Everything was insanely smooth and everyone was mesmerized by his music. And lastly, we ended the night with Above & Beyond. They also took the crowd on a journey, however from my personal bias, I think Porter was better. haha Overall, Day 2 was crazy and after the festival ended, I was no longer tired and I still wanted to listen to more of Porter’s music. We actually ended up listening to some of his songs on the drive back home because we were all still enchanted by his set.
I’m really thankful to my friends for taking me out of my comfort zone and exposing me to the crazy festival. I had a lot of fun with our Moonrise group and I wouldn’t have wanted to go with any other group! This is definitely the start of a new love for festivals.

Today, I felt Alive.

Leave a Reply

